Personal Injury FAQ
Get answers to some of the most common questions our attorneys receive
about personal injury law in Ohio.
How much is my case worth?
The monetary value of your case is determined by multiple factors, but
cost of medical treatment, pain andsuffering sustained, and lost wages are the main factors that will determine how much compensation you can
pursue. As a general rule of thumb, the more severe your injuries, the
great amount of compensation you will be eligible for.
What does "no recovery, no fee" actually mean?
Most personal injury lawyers are required to work on a contingency fee
basis, which means that any attorney fees will be taken as a percentage
of your total recovery. This allows anyone who is an injury victim to
pursue compensation, regardless of their financial situation.
How long do I have to file an injury claim in Ohio?
The time you have to file an injury claim is called the statute of limitations.
In Ohio, the statute of limitations for personal injury claims is two years from the date the injury was sustained. It is critical that you file your
injury claim within the two years or it is unlikely that you will find
a court to hear your case.
Can I still file an injury claim if I am partially at fault for the accident?
Even if you are partially at fault for your injury, you can still recover
compensation. In shared fault cases, the court will determine what percentage you were
at fault and then deduct that percentage from your total recovery. For
example, if you were awarded $100,000 in compensation but were deemed
10% responsible for the incident, you would only receive $90,000. Any
attorney fees would then be taken out of the $90,000.
Call an Experienced Personal Injury Lawyer in Columbus Today!
The attorneys at Plymale & Dingus have more than 70 years of combined experience
and have tried more than 300 jury cases. We are a firm you can trust to
handle your case.
Contact us at any time to schedule your free initial consultation!